Daily Collages

One of the things that I decided to do this year was to start a practice of a daily collage. I must admit that I’ve used the word “daily” to really mean “daily-ish”. I don’t always have time, especially on days like Wednesdays, where I leave my house at 9:30 in the morning and don’t get home from work until 8:30 in the evening. I’m pretty fried by the time I get home.

I’ve been doing them in a sketchbook– one of the first times I’ve really used a sketchbook for art in a long time–and they’re starting to quite satisfactorily make the sketchbook bulge a little. The sketchbook I have actually has perforated pages, which is handy as I’m learning I need to remove a page or two in between collaged pages so that the book doesn’t get too unwieldy.

It’s good practice in attempting to work a little more loosely. I’m not a haphazard free-wheeling artist; I put down elements with precise decision. It’s funny; I’m not organized or obsessively detail-oriented and OCD about things in every other area of my life except in two areas: teaching Pilates and collage. Then I am all about it.

Trying to work a little more loosely is difficult, though, so it’s a good exercise. It also is fun to use the tiny scraps that build up around the tiny work area on my table that develops. (the rest of the table ends up being piled high with papers.) Some of them surprise me, too, where either I’m working with a color palette I don’t normally, or comes together lightning fast.

I’m not the first, by any means, to attempt a daily art practice– the inspiring originator is, of course, Randel Plowman of the blog…A Collage A Day. Lotta Helleberg, Sarah Milne Creative, and Melinda Tidwell are all doing something in a similar vein.

Do you do anything similar? I’d love to hear about it!

On another note, I’ve set up a Facebook page for my art: Krista McCurdy. Yarn and fiber is still at Pigeonroof Studios.

Other links:

Instagram: @pigeons_on_the_roof and @pigeonroofstudios

Did you know I’m on Pinterest? Krista McCurdy and Pigeonroof Studios.

I’ve also opened an Etsy shop for my art: Pigeons On the Roof and of course, yarn and fiber is still at www.pigeonroofstudios.com.

Happy Friday! I’m off to go teach.

Leave a Reply

