Traces of the Past

 

Like everyone in the last couple years, (or so it seems) I was bit by the eco-printing bug. No mention of eco-printing would be complete without naming the master and inventer: India Flint. Botanical matter plus paper (or fabric) plus heat and moisture: magic prints result. It’s amazingly addictive; I’ve found myself picking up countless more leaves than I can use.

Although I have dyed some fabric, paper is always my true love and comfort. I loved that this technique worked so beautifully on paper– for me, even better. Soon I found myself with stacks and stacks of eco-printed paper. Although some would argue they’re works of art in themselves, they never seemed fully completed to me. I’ve also noticed that a lot of eco printing starts to look all the same, or at least so to me.

So I’m using them as a matrix to print on. Not having a printing press, I used a pasta machine to get the amount of pressure needed for paper lithography. I have a bunch of old typewritten and handwritten letters in Polish, which I picked up at an antique fair almost 15 years ago now. Photocopied and enlarged, they make beautiful and intriguing images.

It all seems fitting. The eco prints are the traces of what were once leaves; the imagery is the traces of a long ago correspondence.

These little ones are 3″ by 5″ and are in a 5″ by 7″ mat, and come packaged in a transparent cellophane sleeve. At only $20, with free u.s. shipping, they make perfect little pieces of art to give as gifts or add to your collection. Although I do plan on opening a separate shop, for the time being you can purchase them here.

Leave a Reply

